Am I headed in the right direction?

Spot for your general beginner questions.
MelLandry

Am I headed in the right direction?

Post by MelLandry »

Here it is, my first post.

I've been trolling for a while now, mentally assembling my ROV. I've created a checklist of major components and wanted to see if (what are about to be) my first steps are steps in the right direction.

Background: I've been playing with RC planes, boats, and cars all my life, though they were most often assembled by my dad. I think I'm savvy enough to build an ROV, although programming will be a whole new world. I'm a marine biologist by trade, so it seems to be a logical next step. I'm in the US, if that helps you get a sense of parts availability/costs. I'm considering this first built as a learning step to an ultimate (future) goal (of a second or third build) of something I can launch in the Gulf of Mexico and descend to 75-100m. My goal with this build is to make it complex enough to force myself to learn the skills necessary, while keeping it inexpensive and easy enough to make it a task I can accomplish without being driven off in frustration. For instance, I'd rather be forced to do some programming than to simply utilize an off-the-shelf RC controller.

I plan to completely set up the operational components on the workbench before ever beginning to build the frame.

Here is what I'm thinking right now, with a few questions interspersed:

For my questions keep this in mind: 1) Easy, but complex enough to teach skills I can build upon 2) Relatively inexpensive compared to reasonable alternatives

Control:

I don't mind using a laptop computer as part of the control of the ROV. I have one running windows 7 that I can utilize for this purpose. I'd like the input to utilize some type of game controller/joysticks. I've read about people utilizing PlayStation controllers. It seems that the Ardunio platform has the most extensive support base for this type of applications.