Underwater Sensor - range finder for collission avoidance

Other than control. (Navigation, Sonar, Ect.)
Santosh

Underwater Sensor - range finder for collission avoidance

Post by Santosh »

Hi,

I would like to get information on what is the best approach on range finding underwater. I am very new to robots\ROVs. I would like to make a robot that operates on the bottom of the water and can find objects 3-5cm in front of it. I only need a boolean result i.e if there is an object within 3-5cm range return true else false. the robot will be used in a small tank or pool not larger than LXWXH = 3mx2mx1m. Since it's a very close area I need a very short range finder. Basically the robot is to stop and change path if object is found within the range specified. The object could be anything fairly small (say a 1cm diameter vertical PVC pipe to a large object eg wood log). The robot's speed will be very slow therefore the 3-5cm is enough to stop the ROV when the object is detected.

I have searched the Internet to gather information on which sensor to use, many ppl are pointing at ultrasonic sensor or IR.
But I am not sure which model/part can be used successfully underwater. Note: I do not need any video\pic of underwater, I only need the sensor to correctly identify the Objects blocking the path.

Kindly provide some information and guidance on this.

Thank you.

Regards,
Santosh
Seawolf

Re: Underwater Sensor - range finder for collission avoidanc

Post by Seawolf »

Ultrasonic is out. You'll be getting reflection off of the bottom, you might miss small objects, and the sensor's dead zone will be much larger than 5cm in front of you.

I'm not sure if IR will work either. Water attenuates IR frequencies pretty quickly. But, since you don't need very large range and the sensors are cheap, you might just try it and see what happens.

I personally would try some kind of a bumper sensor. Should be fairly cheap and simple to implement.
Santosh

Post by Santosh »