Cheap camera

Our Eye's under the water.
popeye

Cheap camera

Post by popeye »

Ok guys this is my first build and to be honest I am going so low tech it isn't even funny. My goal is 50ft. I don't really have a way to power my lap top besides the 2 hour battery power I might have while unplugged. and with each thing attached and running my lap top loses battery power faster. I understand that I can get a power inverter to run on the boat battery but right now I don't have the money to buy one.

Ok that being said this is what I need. I need a camera that has a live display to some kind of monitor. I can get a pretty cheap old style portable tv with rca hook ups that runs on 12v. the problem I am having is recording my dive. Is there a system that can record the dive and give me a live display for navigation without using a laptop computer? If so please please please give me some input. I need it low budget like a maximum of 50 dollars.
popeye

Re: Cheap camera

Post by popeye »

I have been looking a bunch online and I had a thought. What about using a backup camera from a car? They are powered by 12v and just need a monitor to view it. I have since discovered that my lap top battery would last long enough for about a 2 hour dive which for what i am planning on doing should work just fine.
james sowell

Post by james sowell »

ROVEnthusiast

Post by ROVEnthusiast »

Here is a good option:
http://www.harborfreight.com/general-me ... 95914.html