RC transmission through tether

Control Boards, Controllers, Tethers, Ect.
m_g

RC transmission through tether

Post by m_g »

Hi all,

I am new to ROVs and RC controllers and have a question I'm hoping you can help with. If you didnt have a DSC unit, and relied on the TX to 'talk' wirelessly with the RX on board the ROV, would a tether (made of cat 5 cable for example) trasnmit the signal to the ROV? I have a design for an ROV that uses this principle, but I want to use mine in saltwater and am worried the concept may not work in saltwater. Any thoughts?
Many thanks

mg
mikec

Re: RC transmission through tether

Post by mikec »

I'm building much the same thing at the moment (very possibly from the same plans). It should work fine because the signal travels through the cable irrespective of the water surrounding it.
bikerbones1968

Post by bikerbones1968 »

Hi guys, just a thought from other information I have read. I am no expert but at least I can pass on what I have read about this.

Using an RC system to transmit a signal on a conductor i.e. CAT5 in principle one would think it would work well. But there may be an inherent issue that comes to mind. Radio antennas are "tuned" lengthening your antenna via directly connecting to it may in all likelihood lose its transmit and receive ability. Especially over the length of the tether. You might be able to do this if the signal could be amplified at the transmitter. It might also be possible to achieve this if you used coaxial cable and relocated the antenna. There are a lot of folks that are well versed in this area in RC and Robotics’ forums and probably on here also. Did you buy the design plans or is this a concept you have yourself? Like I said I am no expert just passing on some things I have read.

Cheers, Anthony
m_g

Post by m_g »

bikerbones1968 wrote:Hi guys, just a thought from other information I have read. I am no expert but at least I can pass on what I have read about this.