Power Source Poll?

Other than control. (Navigation, Sonar, Ect.)
Shawn P

Power Source Poll?

Post by Shawn P »

Just curious what power sources everyone has used successfully. Run a line or manage an onboard battery? I'm really looking at batteries myself and mainly looking at type, weight, and Ah?
PaulC

Re: Power Source Poll?

Post by PaulC »

Well Shawn I can say that I have been using just a regular riding tractor battery for three years now and it works just fine, although this fall I discovered that it needed a charge and that was that.
Carlos D

Post by Carlos D »

Shawn, I use a big fat 125 amp hr deep cycle batt topside.
It's a beast @ 70lbs but it gives me all the power I need.
On my next rov I think I'll try an on board SLA and save the
back!
Pilikia

Post by Pilikia »

Your "... used successfully" caveat disqualifies me from replying (since I'm now constructing my first ROV). But I'll reply anyway. I see several advantages to onboard batteries. First, you won't have the line losses and voltage drops of long-distance low-voltage transmission. Second, tether buoyancy problems are much reduced by having no heavy conductors. Third, onboard batteries provide useful ballast.

On the negative side, onboard batteries require a fairly sizable container that is both reliably sealed and easily accessible. Maybe not such an easy trick.

My initial idea for battery type was Li-Ion. But battery vendors have scared me off them. You actually have to pass a test before they'll sell them to you! They're just flat-out dangerous, especially in novice hands. Depending on what mistake you make, you get to choose whether your shop burns down or is blown-up.

My current choice is Nimh. There is a 1.2 volt "F"-size cell (1.3" dia. x 3.7" long). 10 of them makes 12 volts. http://www.batteryspace.com has a lot of useful info on all types of batteries.

I invite comments on these ramblings. --Pilikia
ckleppin

Post by ckleppin »