A 3D printed, raspberry-brained ROV project

What are you working on .... Show off your Rov's Projects here.
gwenaskell

A 3D printed, raspberry-brained ROV project

Post by gwenaskell »

Hello everyone,

Greetings from France. As some reported virus still locks us there, I took advantage of the last few months to immerse myself into a project that had been haunting my mind for a while. I have indeed been sailing across the atlantic coast since my young age, but since I'm a better engineer than a scuba diver, I wanted to build myself a nice-looking drone to be able to explore the depths of these beautiful areas.

I decided to make quite a few unusual design choices regarding the hull and the propulsion system, motivated by the opportunity to broaden the technical aspects of the project and obtain a nice hydrodynamic design in the end. You can judge for yourself. Here is a snapshot of the unfinished CAD assembly, with still a lot of work to be done (I actually did not expect my software to struggle that much on the hull drawing!):
disposition7.jpg
disposition7.jpg (34.07 KiB) Viewed 15627 times
The overall length is about 50cm. As you may see, one big specificity is these two front thrusters mounted on rotating axes which can perform a 150° rotation in both direction (forward/backward, from the vertical position). These are connected to stepper motors that adjust the position based on the feedback of the IMU. The control program is handled by a raspberry Pi, linked to the surface through a CAT6 ethernet cable (which is one of the last items I haven't purchased yet).
This will provide 5 degrees of freedom, which it enough for a natural pilot control.

apart from that, the main specifications are :
- top speed of 4-5 knots (the front brushless motors can provide 2 kg of thrust each, it should be enough)
- rated depth: 30-50 meters (deepest values I could find in the areas I could explore)
- video stream with low latency
- slightly positive buoyancy (as most of ROVs)