Introduction AUV project and already finished ROVs

Newbies say hello and introduce yourself.
MarcoMota

Introduction AUV project and already finished ROVs

Post by MarcoMota »

GoodMorning.

I am an electrical engineer student and really like underwater exploration/ ROVs/ UAVs.

I am planning to make this AUV this summer https://beobachtung3d.com/

The thing that I really like it's the modularity it provides.

These are two old ROV projects I made before learning programing or electronics so they are really basic:
https://youtu.be/tFXynEVpbBA
https://youtu.be/nRGqlnhOwNg

Both projects where inspired from the book: Build Your Own Underwater Robot and other wet projects by Harry Bohm and Vickie Jensen

Is this forum still active? are there other places more active to ask advice?

Thankyou and have a good day <><
fryslan76

Re: Introduction AUV project and already finished ROVs

Post by fryslan76 »

Hi MarcoMota,

The forum is still active but not so crowed anymore as it used to be. Looks like a fun build, getting it watertight will be an issue with printing.

Greetings,

Fryslan
asesorplaza1

Post by asesorplaza1 »

Buenas tardes.
Bien venido al foro desde España.
Que tengas buena suerte con este proyecto nuevo, ya nos iras informando de los progresos.

Un saludo.

Good afternoon.
Well come to the forum from Spain.
Good luck with this new project, you'll already be informing us of the progress.

Greetings.
MarcoMota

Post by MarcoMota »

ThankYou both! As soon as the project will make some progress I will make an update. I will probably will need some help with the ballast(yes I want to make a balalst) and for the remote controlling part. The first tests will be made with a tether. Is a normal ethernet cable enough or is it better to use a "real" tether? Do you have some suggestions of what to buy?

I came across blue robotics but they're price is pretty high: https://bluerobotics.com/store/cables-c ... -26awg-r1/

Should i make a topic about it?
fryslan76