Hull Crawling Vehicle

What are you working on .... Show off your Rov's Projects here.
ScottishTom

Hull Crawling Vehicle

Post by ScottishTom »

Hi All,

I am currently in my 4th year of Product Design Engineering at Edinburgh Napier University in Scotland, for my honours project (dissertation) I was given a project by my summer placement. The project is "The design of a Hull Crawling Vehicle and Production of a Representative working Prototype", the company i worked for during my summer placement was Fugro Subsea Services. Effectively what i want to prototype is a small free flying vehicle capable of moving across the hull of a FPSO (floating production storage and offloading vessel), this vehicle would be scaled up if it works and would be equipped with inspection and cleaning equipment.

I have looked into different methods of keeping the vehicle in constant contact with the hull of the ship, everything from magnets to a reverse hovercraft style using suction however i have decided that one powerful vertical thruster is the best option.

Some of the specifications i plan of having for my vehicle.

Control: Cat 5 tether connected to a Arduino Uno microcontroller, ideally with a game pad style control.
Power: 12v battery topside
Thrusters: DC Brushless motors, total of 5 motors.
Frame: PVC pipe main frame, with polyprop sections on the side of the tracks.
Control Box: Otterbox.

For my prototype I am planning on keeping the ROV fairly compact, max 500mmX500mmX500mm

I have a few questions for the you guys:

1. Firstly I have absolutly no electronic experience just a lot of CAD experience, therefore is setting an "xbox" style controller to control the ROV pretty hard to do?

2. If the ROV is max 20kgs is the following motor suitable for the thrusters that do forwards/reverse/left/right
http://www.giantshark.co.uk/product/172 ... less-motor