New ROV - The Mimee

What are you working on .... Show off your Rov's Projects here.
Tal

New ROV - The Mimee

Post by Tal »

Hey Everyone,

I'm pleased to be finally placing 'The Mimee' (pronounced My-me) in the projects forum for your viewing pleasure :) I'm really only just starting but want to be able to update my progress as you all are, and share my successes, and failures....

Project Team

First about me. I'm not an engineering graduate, I don't work in any industry related to ROV's, water, or fabrication, and I've never built anything like this before. I'm at somewhat of a disadvantage, but I'm really enjoying all the new information. I have had model making experience, am confident with electronics and computing (although I only have a basic skillset), and generally see my projects to completion. I am comfortable putting both time and money into this project but both resources are meager, so things may progress slowly at times. Sorry if that felt like a job application :) but I feel it may help when responding/contributing/answering, along the way.

Specifications

Chassis/Frame - Aluminium Sheet (3mm)
Watertight Compartments - PVC
Body - Fibreglass (just a cover, not watertight)

Thrusters - 2 Brushed motors at rear providing fwd/rvs and left/right, 1 Brushless motor - vertical movement
ESC's - for above motors to cover their max amp draw (stalling) (and now forward and reverse on all three)