Whats better than 1 AUV? 2 AUVs!

A spot for our autonomous cousins.
Seawolf

Whats better than 1 AUV? 2 AUVs!

Post by Seawolf »

Hey,
I'm a grad student working on a collaborative AUV project. We've just started ordering some parts, so hopefully there will be something to show off in a couple of weeks.

Our basic system design looks something like this (pardon the MS paint):
thePlan.png
thePlan.png (25.47 KiB) Viewed 11079 times
The current plan is to have each underwater vehicle tow a wireless router in a buoy. Each vehicle will have a network camera connected to the wireless router, sending video footage back to a base station for analysis. The wireless router will also be connected to an arduino on board the vehicle. The arduino will read sensor measurements and relay them back to the base station. It will also recieve commands from the base station and drive the thrusters accordingly. Much of this architecture is based off of the wifi rc car found here.

For thrusters, we're planning on having 2 thrusters for forward/backward and turning, and another 2 thrusters for depth and pitch. Our initial design looks something like this:
cad12.png
cad12.png (104.46 KiB) Viewed 11079 times
(PS: I know the thrusters on top don't actually provide thrust in that configuration, this was the marketing picture :twisted: )
We're planning on 1000GPH bilge pump cartridges all around, powered by an onboard SLA battery.

I'll try to keep this thread updates as we make progress.

Cheers,
-Seawolf
Alaska Rov Systems

Re: Whats better than 1 AUV? 2 AUVs!

Post by Alaska Rov Systems »

Nice design, I am planning on building one that has an on board rc rx unit and have the antenna go to the surface to a floating buoy. I don't want a tether on the auv/rov. i want a complete wireless system with onboard batteries, lights and thrusters. I figure that the radio signals should be able to hit the antenna on the surface and then travel to the rx unit and turn on the thrusters.