Help picking sensors

Other than control. (Navigation, Sonar, Ect.)
Lost Bob

Help picking sensors

Post by Lost Bob »

I will have a Arduino mega on onboard my rov and I could use some help picking sensors. I have no arduino experience, coding or otherwise. My only electronic experience is with multi-rotors with no gps or other sensors ( KK2.1 board ).

I was looking at :

SparkFun 9 Degrees of Freedom Breakout - MPU-9150 https://www.sparkfun.com/products/11486. This should give my heading: will it also give my depth ? Can I combine this sensor with some code to show a horizon line across my screen, like fpv planes ?
AttoPilot Voltage and Current Sense Breakout - 180A https://www.sparkfun.com/products/10644. Measure my batteries amps and voltage.
SparkFun Digital Temperature Sensor Breakout - TMP102 https://www.sparkfun.com/products/11931. Measure the temp inside my hull.

I would like to be able to see my thruster output, like a bar graph on the bottom of the screen or similar. More coding ?

Please tell me what am I missing.
Thanks Bob
Moki

Re: Help picking sensors

Post by Moki »

For depth you will need something like a MS5803-14A, or buy the Openrov depth sensor.. Which combines a MPU-9150 with a MS5308-14A.

But lots of coding is needed.
Lost Bob

Post by Lost Bob »

I like that openrov module. Is arduino compatible or just rasp ?
Moki

Post by Moki »

Both, i think.

The Openrov depth sensor is I2C compatible. So it should work on both.
But i have little knowledge on Arduino, but i seem to have read somewere that the Openrov is Arduino based.
Moki

Post by Moki »

Btw, the MS5308-14A only measures pressure. So it will tell you the depth below the watersurface.
Not the distance to the seafloor.
KR2_Diving
Location: Currently: NW Suburbs of Chicago. Originally: NE Wisconsin

Post by KR2_Diving »

Hey Bob!
I have a few comments for you that hopefully will help point you in the right direction!