Help with choosing a control system for my ROV

Control Boards, Controllers, Tethers, Ect.
trogdor

Help with choosing a control system for my ROV

Post by trogdor »

Hi everyone,

I have recently decided I want to work on a electronics/engineering project of my own. Since I have an Oceanography Degree which i completed a few years ago (my current job has nothing to do with it tho :-() a ROV as a project really appeals to me.

Anyway I am planning to make a fairly simple ROV to start with but I want decent thrust and control as a main priority.

I have changed my plans a lot during my research but I think I have got the propulsion sorted.

I want to use brushless motors to provide propulsion, this requires ESC's for each motor which is fine, I have found an american site that can sell me three brushless motors and three ESC's and a suitable camera for approx £60.00 which is a very good price, (Why are all the good sources of things like this from america?)

I the future I plan to run microcontroller control to operate these motors but for now, can I use a aircraft transmitter to control them? I realise that the radio waves wont penetrate thro the water but is it as simple as connecting a wire to both aerials? Ie one of the wires within an ethernet cable? If so then getting proportional control using one wire would be great!

My next question is can I run the ESC and brushless motors from above using a car battery? I plan in the future to run them off on board batteries (possibly Lipos as they are getting cheaper!) but for now I plan to use suitable cable as part of the tether.

If anyone can help I would really appreciate it.
manhattan

Re: Help with choosing a control system for my ROV

Post by manhattan »

Hi Trog,