To LED or not to LED that is the question

Illuminating the Abyss.
amarillo_rocket

To LED or not to LED that is the question

Post by amarillo_rocket »

I'm new to ROV's. The frames/propulsion systems are coming along nicely and should be done in a week or two. I am now turning my planning towards the camera, lighting and control. The ROV's are being built by students and will be used in a swimming pool for contest like retrieving an object off the bottom of the pool in the fastest time, manueverability contest etc.. We have several ponds and lakes in the area we would like to explore. Most of the lake and pond water is very green with algae.

I have read several post about LED lights basically washing out under water even though they look extremely bright and project well above the surface. This brings up a few questions what other light source can be used ie.. halogen. I use a 50 watt low voltage halogen in my Koi pond which works fine. Heat does not seem to be an issue so this is one option I may consider. Anyone have a real world experience you want to share about LED's or other light sources pros and cons?

thanks in advance
bikerbones1968

Re: To LED or not to LED that is the question

Post by bikerbones1968 »

In my opinion LED is the way to go. Low power consumption and they come in a variety of light spectrums to suit any need. Here is a short list of just a few Professional ROV's using LED technology.

Deep Trekker http://www.deeptrekker.com/

Video Ray http://www.videoray.com/homepage/profes ... hting.html

SeaBotix Inc http://www.seabotix.com/products/lbv200-4.htm

Seaeye http://www.seaeye.com/falcon.html
amarillo_rocket